Why Should I Supervise My Child's iPhone or iPad? Is it Safe to Place Devices in 'Supervised Mode'?

A 'Supervised' iOS device allows you to have a more holistic control over your child's digital experience and will ensure that all the premium features work correctly. Specifically, in order to allow or block apps on your child's iPhone or iPad, you need to install our "Supervision" tool. In other words, you will be able to block unnecessary/inappropriate apps and games from your child's device only on a Supervised iPhone or iPad. Other features like tracking your child's location, applying screen time and customizing the filter settings will work without the supervision tool. 

Please make sure that you do iTunes or iCloud backup of your child's device before installing the supervision tool, so that you can use it later to bring the device back to the state it was in. We do offer an "Unsupervise" tool to remove the supervision when needed without having to lose any data from the device since you started the supervision. 

'Supervised Mode' is completely safe! Supervision is a regular process provided officially by Apple to prepare a device for remote management from applications like Mobicip. This mode is widely used by schools, districts, and companies to remotely manage devices. If your child uses an iPad at school, they are probably already supervised.

Check this page to learn how to make your child's device supervised.